Chocolate

I think it’s only fair to make one of my first posts dedicated to my favorite band currently: The 1975. I fell in love with The 1975 this past summer. While scrolling endlessly through Spotify, hopping from playlist to playlist, a song shuffled on and immediately captured my attention.

I think it’s safe to say that The 1975’s debut album: “The 1975”, was the soundtrack to my summer, and “Chocolate” was endlessly playing on repeat in my car, singing at the top of my lugs (mostly off key) everyday on my way to work. 

When I first heard it, I was fascinated. I had never heard a sound like it before: it was love at first guitar riff. The music was so infectious and undoubtedly dance worthy. Then the lead singer came in and I was hooked. There’s no denying his British background, and what’s more fun than singing in an accent??

Lyrically the song is genius. At surface level, it’s nothing more than a catchy pop song about everyone’s favorite food (which possibly represents something else . . .). But diving deeper, it’s a story about the risky relationship between authority and rebellion, something I think everyone can relate to in some way. Beautifully delivered in a catchy beat: Chocolate is a song that will never fail to put a smile on my face.

Also, I just found this extremely lovely version of the Director’s cut for the music video for Chocolate IN COLOR! It’s amazing, and definitely worth checking out! So enjoy friends, and get lost in the music.

If you like Chocolate you may also like:

Songs: Girls, So Far (It’s Alright), and Heart Out. All by The 1975

Artists: The Neighbourhood, Twenty One Pilots, CRUISR, and The Kooks

Leave a comment